Skip to content

A jumping spider with its eye(s) on my camera

August 18, 2015

zebra-spider-at-mcdonalds-03

Unbeknownst to me, while I was reading up on the latest fails involving Windows 10 automatic updates and Android device security, a tiny little jumping spider was scaling, what might have seemed to it, the cliff of my HP Pavilion g6 laptop.

I only turned my attention to the little hirsute arachnid when I noticed it climbing up the edge of  the laptop’s screen bezel. And when it disappeared from view, I tilted down the lid, half-closing the laptop, in order to see what it was doing.

It wasn’t doing anything but sitting there, poised on its eight legs; giving me plenty of time to get my camera out.

Certainly not a camera-shy spider

zebra-spider-at-mcdonalds-02

“All right, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up”.

The furry little spider looked, I thought, very photogenic against the laptop’s iridescent black piano finish but what it thought as it looked back at me is anyone’s guess. Certainly it knew that it was being observed, though.

All jumping spiders have exceptional eyesight (as spiders go) but some of them display surprisingly complex behaviour for creatures with less than a million neurons to rub together.

Zebra jumping spiders (which I don’t think this one was) are uniquely known, not only for the quality of their eyesight but for their unique awareness of human beings and also for their tendency to jump almost theatrically when they know that we are watching them.

This jumping spider was likewise a bit of a show-off. It seemed happy enough to pose for me while I was taking extreme close up photos but as soon as I finished it jumped right up onto the camera. And let me tell you, I had a dickens of a time getting it off!

They may be natural performers in front of the lens but if I didn’t know better, I’d say that this particular little jumper had ambitions to direct. Click the images to enlarge them.

From → Fairview, Spiders

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

