Skip to content

Caught a squirrel having a “moment”

March 11, 2016
squirrel-moment-01

“I think, therefore…I am?”

At 3 p.m. on Friday. I was in the intersection of the alleys on the west Side of Heather Street and the south side of 16th Avenue. There was this little dark brown squirrel cater-corner from me, half visible beside a dumpster. I couldn’t quite see what it was doing.

Moving to get a better angle and zooming my camera to its maximum 4x magnification, I could then see that the squirrel appeared to be leaning nonchalantly against the dumpster!

The black box of a squirrel’s mind

squirrel-moment-02

“Wait. What was I just thinking?”

My camera was aimed a touch too high for the first photo but I caught my subject fully in the second shot.

What looked, through the preview, like Pepé Le Pew’s idea of a smooth move (“So, do you come here often mon chéri?”), looks more like a panic attack in the full size photos–especially in the first photo, where the squirrel’s eyes, for some reason, are as big as saucers.

Who knows what it was–indigestion, gas, a sudden question, a revelation–the answer to life, the universe and everything?

We can never know for sure. And given the likely attention span of the squirrel, it probably can’t either. Click the images to enlarge them.

From → Fairview, Squirrel

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

