Skip to content

My friend Derek, the Special Olympian

June 2, 2016
Derek with his booklet of Special Olympics raffle tickets.

“Three for $5.00!” Derek with his booklet of B.C. Special Olympics raffle tickets.

My friend Derek has worked at the McDonald’s in the 1400 block of West Broadway since 1991. This is where I first met him, about 10 years ago. I always look forward to his weekly Thursday shifts. Once he starts, he works steadily—cleaning, busing tables and restocking. But he always comes in early, so we can always have a chat. Derek shares my love of science fiction. He’s a big Star Trek fan!

Be a sport and buy a ticket, or three!

This Thursday (June 2), before his shift started, Derek made sure that I kept a promise I made last week.

He’s been selling tickets to a B.C. Special Olympics raffle draw since the middle of May and I told him  that I’d buy three tickets today (for the princely sum of $5).

Derek dutifully brought his book of raffle tickets to work with him and I bought three chances to win one of three sporty prizes:

  • First prize: Signed Henrik Sedin Hockey Stick.
  • Second prize: Tesm-signed B.C. Lions football.
  • Third prize: Team-signed Whitecaps soccer ball.

The draw date is June 9th, so wish me luck.

Actually, I wouldn’t know what to do with the prizes. I bought the tickets to help a worthy cause, namely Special Olympics British Columbia—same as the B.C. police officers are doing right now with their Metro Vancouver Torch Run for Special Olympics British Columbia.

Derek has been involved with Special Olympic British Columbia, both as a volunteer and as an athlete, for 16 years now, since he was about 25 years old.

For many years he competed as a class 9 powerlifter (120 kg and up). But recently he’s scaled back to less physically demanding sports, including  soccer, baseball and bocce in the summer and cross-country skiing in the winter.

In addition to his job, all of his sporting activities and his volunteer work, Derek tells me that he’s even begun writing stories.

Keep in mind that Derek still has to find to time in amongst his busy schedule for the really important things, like home, family and watching Star Trek and, of course, the Three Stooges. (nyuck nyuck nyuck!) Click the images to enlarge them.

From → Fairview, People

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

