Skip to content

Rats! The restaurant wouldn’t serve him

July 20, 2017

Cleo the rat gazes back wistfully at the menu as she and her owner leave McDonald’s.

The rats in this town who wear business suits, drive nice cars and lives in fancy condos have no problems whatsoever getting service in restaurants. Cleo the rat however possesses nothing besides the love of her owner—is that why the McDonald’s in the 1400 block of West Broadway Avenue refused to serve her today (July 20)?

Whatever the reason, Cleo and her owner had to leave the restaurant empty-handed after being told they would not be served.

An out of focus photo of cute little Cleo the rat.

I have to say that while the bald-headed owner of Cleo volunteered her name and consented to be photographed with her, he was altogether too shy to tell me his own name.

For the entire time that the gentleman was in the restaurant, he wore a sort of stony expression and the proverbial thousand-yard stare; his skin was pocked here-and-there with the sort of sores that (to be honest) I generally attribute to crystal meth users, people with MRSA and the occupants of bedbug-ridden downtown Eastside flop-house rooms.

Cleo, on the other hand, looked happy and healthy.

On the way out the door the fellow paused to ask me for spare change. When I told him that I did not have any and that I was homeless he stared hard at me and then declared that I didn’t look homeless.

I didn’t say it but I was thinking how much more homeless wearing a brown rat on a string would have make me look.

After the fellow left the restaurant and just before he boarded an eastbound Number 9 bus, I watched as he gently tucked Cleo the rat out of sight in a pocket of his black jacket. Click the images to enlarge them.

2 Comments
  1. What a strange day and strange comment from Cleo’s owner. I suppose one has to own a rat so one doesn’t look homeless, Better not, you don’t want to lose your seat at McD.

    • My perceptions are more at fault than his, I think. I have known two other homeless people who basically wore cute little rays on strings and I became briefly acquainted with a homeless fellow who kept a crow on a string. I’m not personally aware of non-homeless people doing the beyond one Iranian woman who had a pigeon on a string and insisted that it was a common thin in Iran.

Leave a Reply

